The Confidential

The ACC Sports Blog

Louisville Sweeps Vandy, ACC in CWS

The Louisville Cardinals pulled off a major upset by sweeping the SEC champions, Vanderbilt, in Nashville to win the super regional and advance to the College World Series for the first time since 2007. The Cards will be joined by ACC members North Carolina and NC State. Three of the eight remaining teams are from the ACC. The SEC has just two.


The two top conferences squared off in three of the eight super regionals with the ACC winning two of them.

No one was giving the Cardinals much of a chance to make it out of Nashville with even a single victory but their pitching kept the second ranked Commodores in check through out the entire series. Vanderbilt kept both games close and had their chances to win but in the end it was the Cards coming away with 5-3 and 2-1 victories. Two days after being drafted by the Detroit Tigers, Louisville second game starter Jeff Thompson (1ER 3H 9K) continuously denied Vandy opportunity after opportunity to take control of the game and improved his record to 11-1 on the season. This 2013 Vanderbilt team holds the school and league record for victories. Louisville is the only team to beat them twice this season.

North Carolina and South Carolina battled each other and the weather, seeing two games postponed due to weather. In the end it was the toped ranked Tar Heels coming away victorious in the best of three series (6-5, 0-8, 5-4). It was an epic battle of the ACC champs Tar Heels and a team who has won the CWS two out of the last three years, 2010, 11.

In the third battle between the two conferences, it was the SEC coming out on top as Mississippi St swept Virginia, 11-6 and 6-5. This is their ninth trip to the CWS and first since 2007.

NC State swept Rice, 4-3 and 5-4, to advance to their first CWS since 1968. The Wolf Pack pulled out the last game in the 17th inning.

Florida State left 27 base runners on over two games and feel to the B1G champion Indiana 10-9 and 11-6. This is the Hoosiers third post season ever and was their first super regional. They are the first B1G team to make the CWS since Michigan went in 1984. Nothing like B1G baseball! The Hoosiers will take on Louisville in the first round of the CWS, they hold a 2-1 edge on the Cards this season.

LSU didn’t have much of a problem in sweeping Oklahoma 2-0 and 11-1 to earn their 16th trip to the CWS. Their last trip was in 2009 when they won the championship. LSU has won six CWS.

UCLA swept Cal St Fullerton 5-3 and 3-0 to earn their second straight CWS appearance.

The only other team to have won a CWS in this years field is Oregon State, 2006 and 2007. This is their first appearance since 2007. Kansas St pushed them all three games but fell 6-2, 4-12 and 3-4.

The CWS started in 1947 and has produced over 60 champions. The SEC has won nine, including three of the last four. The ACC has five, the last in 2001. Miami has won four (1982, 1985, 1999, 2001) and Wake Forest won it way back in 1955. Southern Cal has won 12, the last in 1998. USC won five straight from 1970-74.

The CWS will be held at the TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb from June 15-26. This years field has some new faces with only two teams holding past championships. Five out of the eight teams are undefeated during this years post season (Indiana, NC State, Louisville, LSU and UCLA). There are only three out of the eight national seeds remaining (#1 North Carolina, #3 Oregon St and #4 LSU). The CWS is a double elimination tourney.

Here is a look at the CWS schedule.

Saturday 15

Game 1 Mississippi St vs Oregon St @ 3pm ESPN2

Game 2 Indiana vs Louisville @ 8 pm ESPN

Sunday 16

Game 3 North Carolina vs NC State @ 3 pm ESPN2

Game 4 UCLA vs LSU @ 8 pm ESPN

Monday 17

Game 5 game 1 loser vs game 2 loser @ 3 pm ESPN2

Game 6 game 1 winner vs game 2 winner @ 8 pm ESPN2

Tuesday 18

Game 7 game 3 loser vs game 4 loser @ 3 pm ESPN

Game 8 game 3 winner vs game 4 winner @ 8 pm (TBA)

Wednesday 19

Game 9 game 6 loser vs game 5 winner @ 8 pm ESPN

Thursday 20

Game 10 game 8 loser vs game 7 winner @ 8 pm ESPN

Friday 21

Game 11 game 6 winner vs game 9 winner @ 3 pm ESPN

Game 12 game 8 winner vs game 10 winner @ 8 pm ESPN

Saturday 22 (If either is necessary)

Game 13 game 11 winner vs game 11 loser @ 3 or 8:30 pm (TBA)

Game 14 game 12 winner vs game 12 loser @ 8:30 ESPN

Monday 24 (Finals, best of three)

Bracket 1 winner vs Bracket 2 winner @ 8 pm ESPN

Tuesday 25 Game 2 @ 8pm ESPN

Wednesday 26 Game 3 (if necessary) @ 8 pm ESPN

Keep checking messages for updates on who wins or loses.

Here are the North Carolina and NC State posts on their great victories.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Louisville Sweeps Vandy, ACC in CWS

  1. Allen on said:

    As all the game commentators will remind you (at least 1000 times each game) only Wake Forest was in the ACC when they won their championship. Let’s hope someone puts an end to that talking point this year.

  2. Mississippi St defeats #3 nationally seeded Oregon St 5-4.
    Indiana shutouts Louisville 2-0. The Cards were shutout only one other time this entire season, a 2-0 loss in the season opener against Indiana.
    #3 Oregon St will face Louisville in an elimination game at 3 pm on Monday. IU & Miss St will play at 8 pm on Monday.

  3. Pingback: ACC Week in Review: June 16, 2013 | ATLANTIC COAST CONFIDENTIAL

  4. The last two national seeds fell on Sunday as both #1 North Carolina & #4 LSU both lose. They will face off at 3pm on Tuesday in an elimination game. NC State and UCLA will follow them at 8pm. So far the top seeds are 0-4, only 1 of the 3 national seeds may be left by Wednesday.

%d bloggers like this: